This is the 2014 edition of the Oasys Project of the Year - If you're looking for the 2016 edition, click here.


We received some fantastic submissions in response to our Project of the Year 2014 Competition, which highlighted the incredible ways in which Oasys software is used in projects all over the world. With such a variety of projects to choose from, picking only one winner for each category was a difficult task - however the judges have made their final decision. See the list below for the names and projects of the lucky winners, who each receive £500 cash and a year's maintenance package for the software used in their submission.

We'd like to take this opportunity to thank all those who entered. Many of the submissions will be showcased on our site in due course.

Academic Category

Structural Winner: Ruud van Knippenberg & Simon Cox - Large Spans - The Existing 'Kuip' in Rotterdam (GSA)

Joint Runners Up: Richard Lang - Innovative Grid Shell Structures in Fibre Reinforced Polymer Composites (GSA) and Harriet Stone - Lookout Primary School (GSA)

Geotechnical Winner: Giada Di-Fonzo - Geoseismic Assessment for Offshore Jetty Pile Design (Slope & Alp)

Runner Up: Satyendra Mittal and Ashwini Ahari - Leaching & Stability Study of Ash Dykes of a Thermal Power Station (Slope)

MassMotion Winner: Siva Srikukenthiran - Integrated Microsimulation Modelling of Crowd and Subway Network Dynamics for Disruption Management

Runner Up: Fangzhou Su - Integration of MassMotion with Paramics to Investigate Vehicle-Pedestrian Interaction at Urban Intersections

Commercial Category

Structural Winner: Chris van der Ploeg - Parametric Tower Design (GSA)

Runner Up: Yu Hui and Florian Rochereau - Disneyland Pedestrian Bridges, Shanghai (GSA)

Geotechnical Winner: Dr. Deborah Scott - Design of Willow Spiling (FREW)

Runner Up: Jamie Lancaster - The Circuit of Wales (Slope)

MassMotion Winner: Michael Kinsey - BSkyB Building O2

Runner Up: Dermot O'Donnell - NEO Project Brussels - Masterplanning